World peace initiative as 2015 begins

By Press Office
January 1, 2015

The beginning of 2015 is being marked by a '24 Hours for World Peace vigil' online at Public Peace Prize (http://publicpeaceprize.org).

The event coincides with the Catholic Church's annual World Peace Day and other goodwill initiatives, and is supported by Pax Christi among other NGOs.

The 24 Hours team will send out a new appeal for peace, sharing and reconciliation. Participants are invited to respond by delivering their own messages and wishes through online comments.

The laureates and finalists of the 2015 Public Peace Prize will be presented, one by one, every two hours on the website.

This event will begin on 31st December at midnight UTC (coordinated Universal Time) in London, which is 1:00am in Paris, 3:00am in Nairobi, 5:30am in New Delhi, and 9:00am in Tokyo on January 1st 2015 in the morning. It will begin the evening before in North and South America; 9:00pm in Buenos Aires and 7:00pm in Lima, New York and Montréal, ending at 7:00pm on 1st January 2015.

Meanwhile, Pope Francis' message for World Peace Day emphasises human solidarity and the need to end slavery globally.

* Public Peace Prize on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/publicpeaceprize.prixpublicpaix

* Twitter: @PublPeacePrize

* 24 Hours for World Peace: https://www.facebook.com/24hoursforworldpeace

* Pope Francis' message for World Peace Day: http://w2.vatican.va/content/francesco/en/messages/peace/documents/papa-...

Although the views expressed in this article do not necessarily represent the views of Ekklesia, the article may reflect Ekklesia's values. If you use Ekklesia's news briefings please consider making a donation to sponsor Ekklesia's work here.